Humans of Khmer America

Tiffany Or


My name is Tiffany Or, and I am 22-years-old. I am Cambodian, Vietnamese, and Chinese. I currently reside in Oakland, CA. I am set to graduate this Spring of 2015 with a B.S. in Health Science from CSU, East Bay. As the oldest of 3 siblings, I am the first to graduate from college.

Being born and raised in Oakland, there is a strong will for survival. I want to be able to achieve a successful life not only for myself, but for my family as well. A lot of my motivation comes from wanting to give back to my parents, who have both instilled great values in me and sacrificed a lot so that my siblings and I can live a comfortable life. They have both influenced me to never forget my Khmer roots and have encouraged me to always pursue my dreams.

Growing in a Khmer household, we were taught to embrace our culture from a young age until now. Every Sunday morning my father would play Sinn Sisamouth’s music and I would just enjoy listening to all the golden age oldies as well as watching the movies. We visit the local Khmer Buddhist temple whenever there is a special event. As I grew older, I’ve learned to see the beauty of my Khmer culture.

My hope for the future is to become a Registered Nurse. It has always been a goal of mine to be part of the medical field. I also hope to visit Cambodia one day to learn more about my country’s history.

I enjoy baking, listening to music, and writing stories.


Previous
tumblr_nnn3vq0vrv1us06alo1_1280
Up Next
tumblr_nnuusemln01us06alo1_1280

DISCLAIMER: The opinions expressed by the commenter(s) are theirs alone, and do not reflect the views of Khmerican and its staff. Khmerican is not responsible for the accuracy of any of the information supplied by its contributors.