Humans of Khmer America

Lanette Sok

My name is Lanette Sok (@l4nette). I am 18-years-old. My friends like to joke around and call me L-four-nette because of my Instagram username.

I was born in Dallas, Texas, where I currently reside. The city does not have a large Khmer community. But every summer break, my mom would send me off to Cambodia to immerse myself in the culture. Now that I attend college and work, I don’t really have the opportunity to fly out to Cambodia as much as I would like.

I currently attend a local community college majoring in business. After I complete my two year degree, I hope to transfer to a four year university in California. I also work part-time at Abercrombie and Fitch. Someday I wish to run my own business.

My parent’s native culture is really important to me. Growing up as a kid it was all I ever knew. I love embracing my Khmer culture because it is a part of me, it is who I am.

I am a freelance model when I don’t have school or work. I don’t model for any particular agency. Modeling is something I’ve always dreamed of doing. I never had the courage to do it until recently. If it wasn’t for a friend’s introduction to a photographer, I would have never started modeling. I enjoy the different fashion styles and the opportunity to meet amazing people.

My role models would have to be my parents. Both of them have worked so hard to get to where they are now. They have experienced hardships just so their kids could live a better life. I love them so much. I aspire to be just as good as both of them.

I like how the Khmerican page because it brings us all together. We can all come together to stay updated with current events, share ideas, or just connect with one another.

Ten years from now I still see myself modeling. Hopefully by then I can start up a small business. Not quite sure what my business will be but it’ll be something that makes me happy.

Photography by Desmum Dangerfield

Most Popular

To Top