Humans of Khmer America

Kimberly Kim

My name is Kimberly Kim, 22, but everyone calls me Kim. I was born and raised in Houston, Texas. I lost my grandmother at an early age (11) so I didn’t get involved in the community after her passing but my dad always made it important to learn about Khmer culture.

I am currently working for my dad’s mechanic shop,The Care Zone. He’s been in the industry for 20+ years and it’s in my intentions to keep it running. We also have a non-profit organization that help those in need and I want to continue my dad’s legacy of philanthropy and charity. I want to bless people so our family can continue to also be blessed.

It is important to embrace my parent’s native cultures because it’s a part of my identity. I am mixed Khmer and I understand how important it is to balance the two. It helps me understand the value I have as a person.

It’s flattering that some people think I should model, but I don’t do so professionally. I’ve never felt like I was pretty enough to model.

I don’t really have a role model because I have never truly compared my life to someone else’s. I do look up to my dad because of all that he’s been able to accomplish through hard times.

I like to run and cook on my free time. I love learning new things and asking lots of questions. Classic cars and trucks always catch my attention. I laugh loud because I want someone else to share that same happiness.

I like that it [Khmerican] makes me feel closer to my Khmer roots. Growing up in a mixed home things can get confusing. I have not been to Cambodia and I want to visit the beautiful temples and get in touch with my spiritual side.

Ten years from now I want to remain happy. Truly happy. I want to have a family with two boys and live in a quiet area. Whatever life throws at me I don’t care. I just want to be happy. Some people wait a lifetime to find real happiness and love, so if I can have those two things, life would be complete for me.

Most Popular

To Top