Humans of Khmer America

Stephanie Nhim

My name is Stephanie Nhim and I am 27-years-old. I am half Cambodian, half Filipino, the oldest of 5 siblings, and a mother of 3. I currently reside in Chicago. I recently graduated with my Bachelors of Science in Nursing from Chamberlain College of Nursing and am very excited to fulfill my dream and be a part of the health care world.

Born into a large family there is a strong will to succeed. My sister was diagnosed with pleuro pulmonary blastoma (lung cancer) at the age of 2 and I want to be able to return love, care, knowledge, health and continual healing given to my sister while in the hospital back to society and help others survive and thrive.

I didn’t not grow up in a Khmer household but made it a point to learn about and embrace our culture by means of my family, more specifically my grandparents. As I have grown and become a mother 3 I share with my children the beauty of our Khmer culture.

I am in the process of going back to school to earn my Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist degree and can’t wait to become a part of that world.

I enjoy spending lazy days with my husband and kids, exercising, and partaking in my favorite hobby karate (Shotokan). In my karate life I have earned the title of 4x Illinois state champion, 5x USA National Champion, 4x USA Open Champion, and 3x Jr. Olympic Champion. I currently hold a second degree black belt under the World Karate Federation.

I’m a busy woman, wife, mother, Khmerican​ and never plan on stopping!

Most Popular

To Top